Bits and Pieces

Bits and Pieces
Photo by Alan Rodriguez / Unsplash

No story this week, just snippets of good stuff I've heard lately...

  • "Able-bodiness is a temporary state for everyone." I heard this on a public radio interview and it just blew my mind - and reframed how I was thinking about my own aging body. The person went on to say that if spaces were designed from the perspective that a person's full use of their body is, at best, temporary, everyone would be able to go everywhere. 🤯
  • "It might feel good, it might sound a lil' somethin', But fuck the game if it ain't sayin' nuttin'" - Public Enemy. This lyric hit me hard as we were driving to Yosemite last week. If I'm not taking risks and actually saying something on this platform, what am I doing here? ❤️‍🔥
  • "You can do hard things. You can do things that are hard for other people. You can help others do things that are hard for them." This is a quote from the best graduation speech I've ever heard. The speaker, a teacher, told the student that if they believed the first principle, they'd have a good life. If they embraced the second, they'd have a successful life. And if they embodied the third principle, they might just change the world. 👏
Yosemite Falls last week - nothing like being in nature to put everything into perspective.